TJC to present the 34th annual ‘Nutcracker’ ballet

TJC to present 34th annual ‘Nutcracker’ ballet Dec. 1-4.
TJC to present 34th annual ‘Nutcracker’ ballet Dec. 1-4.(Tyler Junior College)
Published: Nov. 1, 2022 at 1:02 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

A time-honored tradition for the holiday time, the Tyler Junior College Academy of Dance is preparing for the 34th annual production of “The Nutcracker” ballet.

Performances are set Thursday-Sunday, Dec. 1-4, in Wise Auditorium, located in the Rogers Palmer Performing Arts Center on the TJC central campus.

Show times are:

  • 7:00 PM Thursday, Dec. 1
  • 7:00 PM Friday, Dec. 2
  • 2:00 PM and 7:00 PM Saturday, Dec. 3
  • 2:00 PM Sunday, Dec. 4

To get your tickets early and online, click here.

The production is under the direction of Carolyn Hanna, director of the TJC Academy of Dance and chair of the TJC Department of Dance.

“‘The Nutcracker’ is such a beautifully magical ballet,” Hanna said. “I love incorporating more of our local talent for this show. We are incredibly honored to have so much support from the community, and that inspires us to innovate and transform the production every year.”

She continued, “This year we have more than 150 dancers and actors, and you can definitely feel the excitement on the stage. These dancers have been rehearsing since September, so the end result will be something quite remarkable!”

Assistant choreographers are TJC dance professors Shurrell Wiebe, Thereza Bryce-Cotes, Kristi Franks and Olivia Davis.

Guest artists

Dayesi Torriente and Arian Molina Soca will perform the roles of the Sugar Plum Fairy and her Cavalier. They are both principal dancers with The Philadelphia Ballet.

Torriente began her ballet studies in 1999 at Pro-Dance Center, directed by the Grand Maitre de Ballet Laura Alonso. In 2000, she continued at the Alejo Carpentier Provincial School of Ballet and, upon completion, joined the National Ballet School under the guidance of Esther Garcia, Mirta Hermida, Ana Julia Bermudez, Ramona de Sáa, and Fernando Alonso. She also received bronze medals in national and international ballet competitions held in 2008 and 2009.

Torriente joined Philadelphia Ballet as a soloist for the 2016-2017 season, debuting as the Winter Fairy in Ben Stevenson’s “Cinderella.” She followed up with a role in David Dawson’s “The Third Light,” as well as principal and featured roles in George Balanchine’s “The Nutcracker,” “Le Corsaire,” and the world premieres of Nicolo Fonte’s “Ghost Stories” and Matthew Neenan’s “Somnolence.” Torriente was promoted to the rank of principal dancer for the 2017-2018 season.

Prior to Philadelphia Ballet, Torriente was with National Ballet of Cuba, which she joined in 2009 under the artistic and technical direction of Alicia Alonso. She was promoted to soloist in 2011 and then to principal dancer in 2015. While with National Ballet of Cuba, she performed internationally in Brazil, Canada, China, Colombia, Italy, Mexico and South Africa.

Molina Soca began his ballet studies in 2001 at the Alfonso Pérez Isaac Vocational School of Art in his native Cuba, and then joined the National Ballet School in Havana in 2006.

He joined Philadelphia Ballet as a principal dancer for the 2015-16 season, performing a range of works from the contemporary to the classic. He has danced principal and featured roles that include Ben Stevenson’s “Cinderella” (as the Prince), Nacho Duato’s “Remansos,” Christopher Wheeldon’s “DGV: Danse à Grande Vitesse,” Angel Corella’s “Le Corsaire” (as Conrad), and George Balanchine’s “Western Symphony” (Fourth Movement).

Prior to Philadelphia Ballet, Molina Soca danced with the Cuban National Ballet, which he joined in 2010. He was promoted to first soloist in 2011 and principal dancer in 2012. While with the company, he performed internationally in North and South America, Europe, China and South Africa.

Local cast members

This year’s roster of local performers:

Lilian Andrada, Betsy Ashwood, Ellis Ann Ashwood, Caroline Bailey, Elena Baldwin, Karista Baldwin, Kathryn Beard, Alice Black, Jamie Black, Matthew Black, Khai Blaylock, Piper Bounds, Camila Bravo, Cambrie Brooks, Jenna Broyles, Natalie Broyles, Cailyn Bryce-Cotes, Olivia Buchanan, Rose Barton, Paxon Bush, Jessica Carmona, Lillyana Cash, Ginger Christiansen, Makynzie Cliborn, Maya Cobb, Loralye Cole, Mackenzie Copfer, Bridget Cost, Winter Cummins, Karsyn Cunningham, Jase Curtis, Kathryn David, Qwynnen Davis, Rowyn Davis, Wynnslo Davis, Olivia DeLaCruz, Rafael DeLaCruz, Eduardo Delgado, Farrah Dobbs, Addie Draffen, Kaylynn Draffen, Caleigh Duquette, Jaclyn Duty, Zoey Dyer, Vivienne Elliott, Jazzy Farrish, Cheyenne Fink, Samuel Fink, Sara Fisher, Sloane Fleming, Parker Forney, Cai Franks, Caz Franks, Stella Franks, Taynara Gomez, Sarah Graham, Lucy Hermann, Hannah Hughes, Kylie Gandy, Lillian Gardiner, Steven Green, Jules Gregory, Tesla Hartweg, Skyla Horace, Maggie Hutchins, Najah Jackson, Lilian Jakubik, Felicia Jarrett, Curliyah Jefferson, Heidi Jensen, Sophie Jernigan, Elsie Joseph, Finley Joseph, Lily Kitchen, Annabel Langford, Audrey Lassanske, Yulisa Ledesma, Mackenzie Lee, Caroline Lesniewski, Kaylee Lesniewski, Jazleny Lopez, Daneli Macedo, Kate Margraves, Abigail Marrs, Lillian Marrs, Kara Marrs, Mary-Meadows Marshall, Vivienne Marshall, Nalani Mata, Zoe Grace Mazzare, Ann Marie Mayfield, Cierra Mays, Madelyn McClellan, Elizabeth McCord, Julia McClure, Cheyenne McCracken, Tatum McDonald, Isabella McDowell, Piper McHam, Lucy Anne Mclntosh, Trenton McKenzie, Tenley McKinzie, Nicole Mitchell, Valentina Morales, Collins Morris, Kodi Morris, Elizabeth Mott, Ema Mueller, Emma Murrell, Delia Nava, Madison Nehls, Katherine Niu, Evie Noteware, Paolo Ortega, Victoria Ortega, Eleanor Paris, Kaitlin Pearce, Allie Phillips, Jason Phillips, Ainsley Pierce, Victoria Pool, Laney Rea Porter, London Porter, Amarys Puren, Stella Ramirez, Scarlett Reel, Ainsley Rhodus, Ashley Rivera, Julissa Rivera, Xitlally Rivera, Pacey Roberts, Pippa Roberts, Hannah Robinette, Reggie Robinson, Ryleigh Roxburgh, Haddie Roycroft, Lyla Roycroft, McKinley Ryal, Reagan Ryal, Audrey Scarborough, Lilly Scarborough, Emma Scott, Haven Sewell, Alyssa Shinholser, Emma Shubert, Naomi Skylar, Joseph Slaughter, Pearl Slaughter, Lia Sledge, Tenley Smiley, Eva Smith, Ava Solly, Esther Solly, Fiona Solly, Iris Solly, Phoebe Solly, Leah Soto, Lillian Stoltz, Mary Margaret Stoltz, Sierra Stoner, Laurel Stout, Charlotte Stuebing, Isabelle Stuebing, Izayek Suarez, Joslyn Swinney, Brooklyn Thomas, Madison Thompson, Clara Todd, Cecilia Torres, Raul Torres, Amelia True, Elleigh True, Rose Tucker, Colton Turner, Emily Rose Vahovius, Andrea Velez, Ava Wamboldt, Ivy Wamboldt, Naomi Warriner, Adarius Washington, Julia Watkins, Kayla Whitaker, Alyssa White, Maggie Whitehead, Brynn Wilder, Evelyn Willhite, Taylor Williams, Isabella Williamson, Patrick Willis, Sidney Woolverton, Mary Martha Woods and Lily York.

Stay Connected

Stay up to date on all things The East Texas Weekend!

Like us on Facebook | Contact us | Download our App (Apple, Google)